Geoffrey P. Wiest

Geoff focuses primarily on corporate-commercial law, commercial real estate, securities and aboriginal law in the Northwest Territories and Nunavut. He represents a large number of business clients, First Nations, aboriginal-owned businesses and institutional clients. Geoff has considerable experience with the negotiation and drafting of a wide variety of financing and security documentation. He acts for both institutional lenders and private lenders and for borrowers in both real and personal property secured financing transactions.

Representative transactions include:
– Restructuring of aboriginal-owned corporate group to take advantage of a limited partnership structure;
– Privatization of a community owned aboriginal business;
– Partnerships between an aviation client and a number of aboriginal groups in the Northwest Territories;
– Amalgamation of operating corporations of a private corporate group and reorganization of the corporate group; and
– A variety of acquisitions and dispositions of businesses and assets.

B.A., University of Regina
J.D., University of Saskatchewan

Saskatchewan (1985)
Northwest Territories (1998)
Nunavut (1999)

Canadian Bar Association – Member (1985-Present)
Canadian Lawyers Insurance Association – Board of Directors (1993-2004)
Chair of the Audit Committee
Member of the Loss Prevention Committee
Canadian Bar Insurance Association – Executive (1998-2004)
Member of the Product Development Committee
Member of the Claims Underwriting and Policy Interpretation Committee
Northwest Territories Law Society Committees (1989-Present), including Rules, Finance, Ethics and Insurance
Yellowknife Community Foundation – Secretary/Treasurer (1993-2000)
Vestry of Holy Trinity Anglican Church – Member (1996-2002); Assistant Rector’s Warden (1997); and Rector’s Warden (1998-2002).
Chancellor to the Diocese of the Arctic (2019- Present)
Side Door Youth Ministries – Board of Directors (1997-2000)
Yellowknife Coast Guard Auxiliary – Member (2003-2010); Treasurer (2006-2007)
Marine Rescue Society – Member (2003-2010); Treasurer (2006-2007)